Book Review: Mail-Order Brides of the West: Prudence by Debra Holland

PrudenceTitle: Mail-Order Brides of the West: Prudence
Author: Debra Holland
Series: Montana Sky
Release Date: August 18, 2015

Book Summary:

Shrewish Prudence Crawford is the last woman left at the Mail-Order Brides of the West Agency because she’s rejected every match offered to her as not good enough. One-by-one, she’s watched her fellow brides leave for their new lives and has heard tales of their happiness, and she wants that for herself—but not just any man. She will only take a husband who offers wealth and status.

Michael Morgan struck it rich in mining, or at least richer than anyone else in the tiny town of Morgan’s Crossing, Montana. He’s built himself the nicest house in town, which isn’t saying much when there are only ten homes in the whole place. He’s elected himself mayor of the population of 61 inhabitants and keeps his kingdom under tight control. When he hears stories of the mail-order brides arriving in nearby Sweetwater Springs, he decided to send for a wife, even if he has to exaggerate a mite to attract one.

A wealthy mine owner who’s the mayor of a town named after him and has a mansion sounds perfect to Prudence, even if the place is too close to the other mail-order brides whom she dislikes. But when Michael and his circumstances are not what Prudence dreamed, tempers flare and the fighting begins.

Can Michael tame the shrew, or are they destined to have a miserable marriage?

1886 Mail-Order Brides of the West Series in order:

Mail-Order Brides of the West: Trudy
Mail-Order Brides of the West: Evie
Mail-Order Brides of the West: Heather
Mail-Order Brides of the West: Lina
Mail-Order Brides of the West: Darcy
Mail-Order Brides of the West: Kathryn
Mail-Order Brides of the West: Prudence
Mail-Order Brides of the West: Bertha (Spring 2016)

Montana Sky Series in Chronological Order:

Beneath Montana Skies

Mail-Order Brides of the West: Trudy
Mail-Order Brides of the West: Lina
Mail-Order Brides of the West: Darcy
Mail-Order Brides of the West: Prudence


Wild Montana Sky
Starry Montana Sky
Stormy Montana Sky
Montana Sky Christmas
A Valentine’s Choice
Painted Montana Sky
Glorious Montana Sky
Sweetwater Springs Christmas
Sweetwater Springs Scrooge
Healing Montana Sky (October 2015)
Mystic Montana Sky (July 2016)

Cheryls review
This is a fantastic series about brides from a mail order bride home in St. Louis. The authors originally intended to only write stories about 6 of the girls. Prudence was not one of the six. She was a mean and nasty secondary character. The series is wonderful and the readers asked for more. They wanted Prudence’s story. I wondered how the author could be true to her character and yet create a story that we would all want to read. I am very impressed with what Debra Holland created.

Prudence does have her talents. When she unknowingly chooses a groom from a very small mining town, she is thrust into situations she would never have imagined herself in. She discovered that she could be compassionate and that her strong will is very useful in some situations.

Michael didn’t really know what he was getting in a wife. Both were unprepared for what they found in the other person. Sparks flew in more ways than one.

I was quite entertained by their interactions with one another. I was impressed with the ways the author found to make Prudence’s talents shine. I enjoyed the story immensely and, like her other readers, can’t wait for more. I look forward to Bertha’s story to be released next spring.

5 stars

Rating: 5 Stars! – I loved it!!!

Content: clean

Source: ebook for review

This book can be purchased at Amazon.


  1. I bet my Mom would like this series!

  2. I’d like to try this series. It reminds of a couple old movies I watched as a kid!

  3. I listened to the first book on Audible a few months ago and really liked it.

    I am glad to see others enjoying the series. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.