Book Review: Sense and Sensibility by Rebecca H. Jamison

20830676Title: Sense and Sensibility: A Latter-Day Tale

Author: Rebecca H. Jamison

Publisher: Bonneville Books

Release Date: August 12, 2014


Book Summary:

As if it wasn’t bad enough to be getting food from Church welfare, I had to meet one of the Ferreros—and a good-looking Ferrero, at that.

Elly Goodwin, a brilliant programmer, is so desperate for a job that she takes one from her ex-boyfriend—the same man who put her family out of business. Then she meets Ethan Ferrero, who seems too good to be true. But Elly is far too sensible to unexpectedly fall in love—especially with her ex’s brother-in-law.

But when Elly’s sister, Maren, dates the wrong guy, Elly must intercede before Maren’s passion clouds her common sense. Together, Elly and Maren must learn that a mixture of sense and sensibility is the perfect recipe for love.

Fans of Jane Austen’s Sense and Sensibility will love this modern retelling of the classic romance novel.


I loved this modern retelling of Sense and Sensibility. I thought it fit quite well to have Elly (the Elinor character) be a computer programmer and to have Maren (the Marianne character) be an artist and depressed. The writing in the book was wonderful, as was the story. It did follow the basic Sense and Sensibility plot line, so I did have certain expectations, but I enjoyed seeing how it played out in this retelling. I also liked how the story was related to another of my favorite stories near the end. Since it’s near the end, I’ll let you discover it, but I thought it was a brilliant tie in that fits very well.
Rating: 5 stars – I loved it!!!
Content: Clean
Source: Personal Copy
This book can be purchased from Deseret Book, Barnes & Noble, and Amazon.


  1. Good review. I loved the original and always appreciate a good spin off an old tale.

Leave a Comment