Book Review: Earthbound by Aprilynn Pike


Title: Earthbound

Author: Aprilynne Pike

Series: Earthbound #1

Released: July 30, 2013

Publisher: Razorbill


Book Description:

Tavia Michaels is the sole survivor of the plane crash that killed her parents. When she starts to see strange visions of a boy she’s never spoken with in real life, she begins to suspect that there’s much about her past that she isn’t being told.

Tavia immediately searches for answers, desperate to determine why she feels so drawn to a boy she hardly knows. But when Tavia discovers that the aunt and uncle who took her in after her parents’ death may have actually been responsible for the plane crash that killed them–and that she may have been the true intended victim–she flees for the safety of Camden, Maine, where the boy she sees in her visions instructs her to go.

Now, Tavia is on the run with no one to trust. No one, that is, except for her best friend and longtime crush, Benson.

Tavia feels torn between the boy who mysteriously comes to her at night and the boy who has been by her side every step of the way. But what Tavia doesn’t know is that the world is literally falling apart and that to save it she will have to unite with the boy in her visions. Only problem? To do so would mean rejecting Benson’s love. And that’s the one thing Tavia Michaels swore she’d never do.


Thankfully I didn’t read the book’s description prior to starting to read this book. I hate spoilers and that description has to be one of the worst as far as providing spoilers. It’s basically a summary of what happens in the book. So if you haven’t read it yet and like me hate spoilers don’t read it.

Other than being totally disappointed with how much unnecessary language Aprilynne added to this book I really enjoyed the story line. I think I just loved Benson mostly.

Earthbound held my interest and moved along quickly right until the cliff-hanger ending. Glad I didn’t read this when it first came out.



Rating: 3.5 Stars – Good Book

Content: Language throughout

Source: Download

Purchase your copy on