The Awakening by Dorine White – Blog Tour Excerpt & $25 Giveaway


Blog Tour Schedule

The Awakening by Dorine White

The Awakening by Dorine White

Nightmares really do come true, and for fifteen-year-old Kyler Birkwood, they are just beginning. Raised on a farm by his Aunt Martha, Kyler has no clue about the magical heritage swimming through his blood. When he discovers evidence of a mythical creature, a terrifying beast thought only to exist in fairy tales, his safe world shatters.
Left at a school of magic to hunt for clues, he is overwhelmed and disbelieved. As loved ones begin disappearing and Orcs roam the land, Kyler must undergo a journey that takes him from the High Courts of the King to the unknown forests of the East. His magic just awakening, Kyler is the lone hope for a world that will not listen.

Purchase Your Copy

Amazon Kindle * Amazon * Barnes & Noble

Praise for The Awakening

“Dorine White delivers twists and turns to the plot that will keep you turning the pages.” ~ Melanie Mason, author of the YA historical, The Line That Divides

“The Awakening is a clever blend of folklore and fantasy, perfect for fans of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson. A furiously fun read!” ~ Laurisa Reyes, author of the YA thriller, Contact



The night grew darker as a storm cloud passed over the moon. Darcy and Kyler backed up toward Henry, carrying Ralph’s body. They were almost halfway across the clearing when Henry screamed.

“Look out! It’s above you!”

Dropping Ralph to the ground, Darcy and Kyler took up defensive positions back-to-back, her with her sword and him with his staff. They fearfully looked toward the sky. Darcy could make out the outline of a great beast hovering above the ground, watching their rescue attempt. The Griffin let out a mighty shriek and charged. Its powerful body streaked downward, it sharp claws extended to rend flesh.

“Henry,” yelled Kyler. “Cover Ralph.”

As the monster approached, Darcy lashed out with her sword, aiming for its underbelly. Kyler ended up deflecting a claw that had been intent on ripping his eyes out. Together they managed to keep the Griffin from landing. Swinging with all her strength, Darcy sliced into the monster, leaving a trail of blood dripping from its hind leg. Henry ran into the fray, taking up a protective position over Ralph’s unconscious body while Darcy kept up her attack. She swung and thrust her sword, forcing the beast back, until it found ground enough to face her.

With a berserk holler, Kyler swung his staff at the beast, knocking it a stinging blow to the head. Unbalanced from Darcy’s attacks, the Griffin flew backward and landed with a loud crash on its nest. Darcy and Kyler took up defensive stances across from the wrecked nest as the Griffin slowly regained its footing, ruffling its feathers in irritation. The beast eyed both its young attackers, anger flashing in its green eyes.

Darcy watched the Griffin approach, and gave Kyler a cautious look.

“Back me up,” she said through gritted teeth.


DorineAuthor Dorine White

My name is Dorine White. I am a children’s fantasy author and a book reviewer. I grew up back East in Maryland and attended BYU in Utah. I have a BA in Humanities with an interest in Art History and French. Currently I live in the beautiful, yet rainy Northwest with my husband and 6 children. My first novel was published in 2012 and is the beginning of the Cleopatra’s Legacy series. The first two books are out, The Emerald Ring and The Ruby Pendant. Look for the third book, The Diamond Looking Glass in the summer of 2015.

Website * Blog * Facebook * Twitter



$25 Blog Tour Giveaway

Enter to win an Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash

Ends 1/29/15

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.


a Rafflecopter giveaway


Leave a Comment