Book Review: Partials by Dan Wells


Title: Partials

Author: Dan Wells

Series: Partials Sequence #1

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Released: February 28, 2012


Book Summary:

For fans of The Hunger Games, Battlestar Galactica, and Blade Runnercomes the first book in the Partials Sequence, a fast-paced, action-packed, and riveting sci-fi teen series, by acclaimed author Dan Wells.

Humanity is all but extinguished after a war with Partials—engineered organic beings identical to humans—has decimated the population. Reduced to only tens of thousands by a weaponized virus to which only a fraction of humanity is immune, the survivors in North America have huddled together on Long Island. But sixteen-year-old Kira is determined to find a solution. As she tries desperately to save what is left of her race, she discovers that that the survival of both humans and Partials rests in her attempts to answer questions about the war’s origin that she never knew to ask.

Playing on our curiosity of and fascination with the complete collapse of civilization, Partials is, at its heart, a story of survival, one that explores the individual narratives and complex relationships of those left behind, both humans and Partials alike—and of the way in which the concept of what is right and wrong in this world is greatly dependent on one’s own point of view.




This is the first book of the Partials Sequence series and I am currently half way through book two. I enjoyed Partials and thought it was a very well written story.

Partials is young adult dystopian set in a world where a virus has killed 99% of the entire human population. 30,000 humans and 1,000,000 Partials are all that is left of the population. And the Partials aren’t considered human. I felt the characters were well developed and the story was original. There is potential for a love triangle to develop (since Sam was my favorite character from the story that is where I hope the relationship heads in future books) but there was overall very little romance in the story line.

While I did enjoy this book it was one that I could put down and walk away from. It took me nearly a month to make it through the entire thing. It is longer than most young adult titles (468 pages, 38 chapters, 14 hours of Audible narration). I liked this well enough to continue on with the series.

4 stars

Content: Occasional mild to moderate language and some talk of sex.

Source: download

Purchase & find out what other reviewers think:


  1. I read this shortly after it came out and loved it.

  2. I’ve had this book for a while now. I think it’s length keeps me from starting it. I’ve read several long books lately and feel the need for something short and sweet. I will get to this though. Thanks for you review.

Leave a Comment