Book Review: Letting Ana Go by Anonymous

LEtting Ana Go 2Title: Letting Ana Go

Author: Anonymous

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Release Date: June 4th 2013


Book Summary:



In the tradition of Go Ask Alice and Lucy in the Sky, a harrowing account of anorexia and addiction.



She was a good girl from a good family, with everything she could want or need. But below the surface, she felt like she could never be good enough. Like she could never live up to the expectations that surrounded her. Like she couldn’t do anything to make a change.



But there was one thing she could control completely: how much she ate. The less she ate, the better—stronger—she felt.



But it’s a dangerous game, and there is such a thing as going too far…



Her innermost thoughts and feelings are chronicled in the diary she left behind.




I had read Go Ask Alice a couple years ago and decided to try out another book from the other “Anonymous” author collection. I am so glad I did. Like Go Ask Alice, this is the main character’s journal, which started off as a food/feeling journal. It is interesting to see what she wrote, her weight changes, and the evolution of her disorder. Also, interesting, because it was a journal, we never know her name – really who writes their name in their journal entries?? But for the remainder of the review I’ll just call her Ana – for simplicity.

This book gave me so many different feelings – I just wasn’t expecting it. I find eating disorder books very interesting and very relatable since I had an eating problem when I was a teenager (not a full-out eating disorder but I believe it was borderline). I found that the topic was handled very well and covered all the ups and downs of the disorder – how it starts, the actual issue, and all the ugly.

All the characters were written very realistically. I believed everything that was going on and how each individual reacted to Ana and her behaviour. I completely felt for Jack! It must be hard standing there watching people you love hurt themselves. I could relate to Ana and her entire situation (although I have not experienced it all). Unlike what the back of the book describes, she did not start out by wanting to lose weight, but her sport forced the girls to track all the food and exercise they did. This was actually one of the parts of the books that completely irritated me! Why was it only the girls, yes it is predominantly girls who have eating disorders but why just focus on them? If you’re worried about eating disorders and are going to force people to track what they are doing (which I believe would just cause disorders instead of stopping them) then make the entire team do it not just the girls! Also, the coach’s reaction to Ana cutting her calories and losing weight just irritated me – if that’s how you are going to react the whole exercise was for nothing!

I was completely surprised by the ending and didn’t fully no how to react. I wasn’t expecting it – although I should have. Do not go into this expecting anything or having a certain mindset. It will throw you for a loop!

I would recommend this if you’re interested in eating disorders, Go Ask Alice style, journal writing, or realistic fiction.

Rating: 4.5/5 – Highly Recommend

Content: talk/implied of teenage sexual behavior, use of alcohol, clean language, body image issues

Source: Personal Copy

This book can be purchased at AmazonBarnes & Noble, and Chapters Indigo