Book Review: The Boleyn Reckoning by Laura Andersen

BoleynTitle: The Boleyn Reckoning

Author: Laura Andersen

Series: The Boleyn Trilogy #3

Publisher: Ballantine Books

Release Date: July 15, 2014

Website: http://www.lauraandersenbooks.com


Book Summary:



Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir! After presenting readers with an irresistible premise in The Boleyn King (what if Anne gave birth to a healthy royal boy who would grow up to rule England?) and returning to the dangerous world of the Tudor court in The Boleyn Deceit, Laura Andersen brings to a triumphant conclusion the enthralling tale of the Tudor king who never was.



Elizabeth Tudor is at a crossroads. After a disastrous winter, the Duke of Northumberland has been executed for treason while his son, Robert Dudley, claims from the Tower that the true traitor has not yet been caught. And though her brother, William, has survived smallpox, scars linger in the king’s body and mind and his patience is at an end.



As English ships and soldiers arm themselves against the threat of invasion, William marches to the drumbeat of his own desires rather than his country’s welfare. Wary of this changed royal brother, Elizabeth assembles her own shadow court to protect England as best she can. But William, able to command armies and navies, cannot command hearts.



Minuette and Dominic have married in secret, and after an ill-timed pregnancy, they take to flight. Faced with betrayal by the two he loved most, William’s need for vengeance pushes England to the brink of civil war and in the end, Elizabeth must choose: her brother, or her country?



I really wanted to love this book but, for the most part, I can only say I liked it. I found myself fighting through the book at times – but I’m not sure if that was because I wasn’t in the mood for it or if it was just because the beginning was slow. Andersen changed up the writing style slightly. It bounced back and forth between the characters still; however, this time they weren’t divided by chapters. At times one paragraph would be one character and the next would be another – it was easy enough to figure it out but I liked it better when it was chapter driven.

As I mentioned in my review of the previous book, I do not like Will at all! I don’t know if he was written that way to have a constant “villain” or what the plan was but the further into the series it got the more I just couldn’t stand his sections.

I found this book really didn’t pick up until the last 100 pages (so 2 thirds of the way into the book) which made it difficult to trudge through some of the other. Some characters were put in standby – literally, some characters were sent away to wait for this or that to happen!

In the end, yes I liked the book well enough. It was an ok ending to the series – in fact I had many feels in the last third (when it picked up). It provides a nice wrap up for all the characters and I wasn’t left feeling like the ending was rushed or that I wanted just a little bit more. If you’ve already started the series I’d recommend picking this up and finishing it.

Click link to view previous reviews of The Boleyn King #1 (Goodreads only) and Boleyn Deceit #2

Rating: 3/5 – Worth reading if you have the time

Content: Sex between married and non-married adults, sexual language, use of alcohol, some violence (war talk, threats, poisoning, attempted murder, imprisonment, torture, hanging, and limb removal).

Source: Personal Copy

This book can be purchased at AmazonBarnes & Noble, and Chapters Indigo