In My Mailbox

books mailbox

Weekly Meme hosted by The Mod Podge BookshelfMailbox MondayTynga’s Reviews, etc.

 

Here are a few of the books I have received recently.

 

In Edwardian London, a girl dreams of being an artist, despite her family’s disapproval.

Welcome to the world of the fabulously wealthy in London, 1909, where dresses and houses are overwhelmingly opulent, social class means everything, and women are taught to be nothing more than wives and mothers. Into this world comes seventeen-year-old Victoria Darling, who wants only to be an artist—a nearly impossible dream for a girl.
            After Vicky poses nude for her illicit art class, she is expelled from her French finishing school. Shamed and scandalized, her parents try to marry her off to the wealthy Edmund Carrick-Humphrey. But Vicky has other things on her mind: her clandestine application to the Royal College of Art; her participation in the suffragette movement; and her growing attraction to a working-class boy who may be her muse—or may be the love of her life. As the world of debutante balls, corsets, and high society obligations closes in around her, Vicky must figure out: just how much is she willing to sacrifice to pursue her dreams?

From the Hardcover edition.

 

“Magnificent and unsettling.” –Marie Lu, New York Times Bestselling author of the Legend Trilogy

A death-defying tropical adventure delivers a frightening message about dabbling with creation, perfect for fans of Orphan Black.

On a remote island in the Pacific, Corpus scientists have taken test tube embryos and given them life. These beings—the Vitros—have knowledge and abilities most humans can only dream of. But they also have one enormous flaw.

Sophie Crue is determined to get to Skin Island and find her mother, a scientist who left Sophie behind years ago. She enlists hunky charter pilot Jim Julien to take her there. But once on the island, Sophie and Jim encounter more than they bargained for, including a charming, brilliant Vitro named Nicholas and an innocent, newly awoken one named Lux.

In a race for their lives, Sophie and Jim are about to discover what happens when science stretches too far beyond its reach.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

 

Peter Lubinsky doesn’t even like dogs and can’t understand why he asked for one for his birthday. But it turns out that this pet, whom Peter calls The Dog, can talk and do magic?and he needs Peter’s help. In return, The Dog promises to teach Peter conjuring and to help him bring his father home from the Middle East, where he is deployed with the air force. Soon Peter finds himself flying through the air on a mission to rescue The Dog’s master. But as Peter’s magical powers grow, he finds himself filled with dark anger.

A bedroom full of dinosaur fossils, a waiter who was formerly a mouse, and an epic battle of magicians make for a thrilling read. This imaginative middle-grade fantasy is about the power of enchantment and love.

 

Everyone is different, so in a sense we’re all similar. At least that is what Melinda and Felix Hutton thought until changes started to unravel their world. When they are told that their ancestry is not human but Athenite and that Athenites share human characteristics, but can transform into animals, their world is forever changed. To ten-year-old Melinda it’s literally a dream come true. Melinda wants to explore her talents and transform into everything, but she often lacks the concentration to do so effectively and might end up as a creature with a rat’s tail on a feathered body with her own freckled face on its head. But twelve-year-old Felix doesn’t greet this new reality as something to celebrate. Being related to creatures of myths and fables is not Felix’s idea of normal.

Their parents, Elaine and Jake explain the nature of their secret heritage. To avoid discrimination and persecution, Athenites began cloaking themselves in secrecy centuries ago when humans began inventing stories to explain the unexplainable things that they saw. Myths about men with bull’s heads, Nordic princesses who would became swans, and Celtic seals who would shed their skin to become human women are all stories designed to camouflage the Athenite existence. But it wasn’t always that way and if Elaine and Jake can prove that Athenites once co-existed with humans and lived as a valuable members of society then Athenites might again live openly.

Professor Stumpworthy (also secretly Athenite) wants to prevent any project that jeopardizes the secrecy of Athenite existence. He has built his personal fortune using his transformation abilities. Charismatic and brilliantly evil, Stumpworthy eliminates any Athenite he deems a threat to his way of life.

But it is Aesop’s secret that will unravel Stumpworthy’s plans. Melinda’s rabbit, Aesop, was once a man named Joe Whiltshire and a close Athenite friend of Stumpworthy. Whiltshire discovered artifacts that would help identify Athenites as valuable members of society and planned to share his discovery with the world. To prevent the publication of this discovery, Stumpworthy used a virus to render Whiltshire helpless. Involuntarily transformed into an animal that could combat the virus, Whiltshire was permanently transformed into a rabbit. With the antidote known only to Stumpworthy, it seems that Whiltshire would remain Aesop for the rest of his life.

But antidotes don’t always come in test tubes, as Aesop discovers. His return to the form of Joe Whiltshire surprises his old friend.

Stumpworthy is a master of deception and manipulation. Now seen as threatening, the Huttons are destined for the same fate as Whiltshire. But Athenites are not easy victims. Exploiting their transformation ability and immunity to the virus, Melinda, Felix and Joe lead the rescue of the others by using Stumpworthy’s own methods against him.

Claudia White wrote her three novels while living in Oxfordshire, England and Oakville, Ontario. A recognized expert in daydreaming, she has at last been prodded by her young audiences to record her imagined worlds on paper. White has written professionally for more than 20 years.

 

A collection of authentic stories from the years around 1492. These tales have been carefully crafted to sound as exciting and mysterious as they were when first told five hundred years ago by sailors around a lantern on a ship, shared by explorers reclining around a campfire, enjoyed by Native Americans in a grass hut, whispered inside a stone palace in the Totonac city of Zempoala, or fondly remembered by an adventurer back home in Europe. This snapshot of 1492 will incite adventure and imagination, as readers follow these new world tales of courage and exploration.