Book Review: Graceling by Kristin Cashore

FireTitle: Fire
Author: Kristin Cashore
Series: Graceling Realm
Publisher: Dial Books
Release Date: October 5, 2009


Book Summary:

It is not a peaceful time in the Dells. The young King Nash clings to his throne while rebel lords in the north and south build armies to unseat him. The mountains and forests are filled with spies and thieves and lawless men.

This is where Fire lives. With a wild, irresistible appearance and hair the color of flame, Fire is the last remaining human monster. Equally hated and adored, she had the unique ability to control minds, but she guards her power, unwilling to steal the secrets of innocent people. Especially when she has so many of her own.

Then Prince Brigan comes to bring her to King City, The royal family needs her help to uncover the plot against the king. Far away from home, Fire begins to realize there’s more to her power than she ever dreamed. Her power could save the kingdom.

If only she weren’t afraid of becoming the monster her father was.

ashley review

Kristin Cashore is an amazing author that I wish I had discovered awhile ago! I LOVED Kristin Cashore’s first novel Graceling and couldn’t wait to get my hands on her second novel in the Graceling Realm series, Fire. Timeline wise, Fire precedes Graceling but I am so glad I readFire after reading Graceling. I wish I could say why I feel this way, but it would give too much away.


The action and adventure was well paced and had me staying up late reading to find out where this story led. The intrigue was so well thought out and written with just enough suspense to keep me in the dark about certain aspects of the story without losing my interest. The lead character named Fire, like Katsa in Graceling, is a refreshingly strong, determined, and real heroine. Cashore’s world building is astonishing. She really captures you and engulfs your imagination into her world.


The romance is present throughout the story but it does not overwhelm it. I was so torn for a good portion of the book as to which characters I wanted to be together. In the end, I was oh so happy with who ended up with one another. The book contains implications of sexual engagements, though mild and nothing is detailed, it does occur a few times throughout the book. There are three books in the Graceling Realm series. Technically, Graceling, Fire, andBitterblue are stand-alone books, and though you could read them in whatever order you’d like, I highly recommend reading them in this order: Graceling, Fire, Bitterblue.


 5 stars
Rating: 5 Stars-I loved it!


Content: mild content implying sexual encounters but not detailed (more behind-closed-doors type).


Source: Bought it from Barnes and Noble


Buy it now from AMAZON.


 Ashley Tour



  1. I totally loved this book and the whole Graceling series. When I picked up Graceling and started it, I remember thinking, “Ah finally, I have been waiting to find an author like this.” The books gave me those same chills and feelings I had when I was a kid reading all the books that would become my favorites.

    • I thought the exact same thing! It was like I had finally found the type of story I was looking for and written by the perfect author!

  2. This is a favorite series of mine, although Graceling is my favorite with Bitterblue next and Fire last. They are all well written. I always forget how long they are until I pick them up again, which says something about how enjoyable they are. Good review! 🙂

  3. Great review! I love Kristin Cashore! The books are so good! I can’t pick my favorite.