In My Mailbox

books mailbox

Weekly Meme hosted by The Mod Podge BookshelfMailbox MondayTynga’s Reviews, etc.

 

Here are a few of the books I have received recently.

 

Me On the Floor Bleeding by Jenny Jagerfeld

An accidentally sawed off thumb throws the reader right into high school-outsider Maja’s journey in pursuit of identity. With a suddenly disappeared mom and and a reluctant crush on the boy next door, this spring nothing turns out as Maja has imagined.

 

 

Counting by 7s by Lolly Goldberg Sloan

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.
Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn’t kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now.

Suddenly Willow’s world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.

 

The Fantastic Family Whipple by Matthew Ward

 

For every child who’s ever dreamed of being in the Guinness Book of World Records comes the story of eleven-year-old Arthur Whipple and his fantastic family of world record breakers . . .

– Most Crème Brulée Eaten in One Minute
– Highest Number of Matching Outfits Worn by a Stuffed Toy and Its Owner
– Youngest Person to Summit the Third-Highest Mountain in the World

These are just three of the 49,521 records won by Arthur’s twelve brothers and sisters. Unfortunately, unlike his siblings, Arthur hasn’t broken a single, solitary world record! But when the Whipples suffer a spate of catastrophes and a curious amount of attention from a pair of irregularly sized and unusually menacing clowns, Arthur might be the only one who can save his family from losing their collective crown . . . or worse.

 

 

Insight by Terron James

Rumors are surging through Appernysia that a Beholder has been born, the first wielder of True Sight in over a millennium. Seventeen-year-old Lon Marcs discovers he has been blessed-or cursed-with this gift. He cannot control the power of True Sight and feels it killing him with each passing day. He realizes that the only people who might possess the knowledge to save his life are the sworn enemies of his king. To obtain their help, Lon would have to journey into exile, leaving behind his village, family, and beloved Kaylen. Although this is the hardest decision Lon has ever made, it is only the first of many that will test his strength and challenge his interpretation of right and wrong

 

 

The Life of Ty: Penguin Problems by Lauren Myracle

 

A brand-new illustrated chapter book series by New York Times bestselling author Lauren Myracle!

Winnie Perry’s sweet baby brother, Ty, is the quintessential dreamer, full of big ideas and wacky plans that only a seven-year-old boy could hatch. Whether it’s battling the family cat with a Dustbuster or smuggling a baby penguin out of the aquarium, Ty is always in the middle of a well-intended, big-hearted scheme.

In the spirit of the Judy Moody spinoff Stink series, Ty will work his way into the hearts and funny bones of a whole new generation of Myracle fans.

 

The Creatures from the Seventh Grade: Sink or Swim by Bob Balaban

There’s a thief in town, and all signs point to twelve-year-old Charlie Drinkwater. Once you spontaneously morph into a giant mutant dinosaur in the middle of the school day, people will suspect you of just about anything. Charlie’s teachers decide that all he needs is a little discipline, so they make him join the swim team. The only problem is, Charlie is terrified of the water. (He’s terrified of a lot of things.) Charlie and his friends vow to apprehend the real criminal and clear Charlie’s name. But when they discover who the actual thief is, Charlie’s problems get a whole lot bigger . . . not to mention slimier, scalier, and smellier!