The 2012 Whitney Awards Finalists

Time to start reading!


The Whitneys are an awards program for novels written by LDS authors. Elder Orson F. Whitney, an early apostle in the LDS church, prophesied “We will yet have Miltons and Shakespeares of our own.” It is our hope to be a part of that journey toward excellence by honoring the LDS writers also working toward that goal.
The Whitney Awards honor novels in the following categories: General Fiction, Romance, Suspense/Mystery, Speculative Fiction, Speculative Young Adult Fiction, General Young Adult Fiction, Middle Grade, Historical, Best Novel of the Year, Best Novel in Youth Fiction, and Best Novel by a New Author. Novels can be nominated by any reader (via this website or by mail), and nominees are voted on by an academy of industry professionals, including authors, publishers, bookstore owners, distributors, critics, and others.
The awards were founded in 2007 and operate as an semi-autonomous subsidiary of LDStorymakers.

2012 Whitney Awards FINALISTS

Click HERE to purchase tickets to the 2012 Whitney Awards Gala on May 11, 2013, at the Provo Marriott


Dancing on Broken Glass Paige The 13th Day of Christmas A Night on Moon Hill The Rent Collector
Ka Hancock* Annette Lyon Jason F. Wright Tanya Parker Mills Camron Wright


Espionage My Loving Vigil Keeping Spinster’s Folly The Five Books of Jesus Within the Dark Hills
A. L. Sowards* Carla Kelly Marsha Ward James Goldberg* Sian Ann Bessey


Lady Outlaw Of Grace and Chocolate Smart Move Twitterpated Edenbrooke
Stacy Henrie* Krista Lynne Jensen* Melanie Jacobson Melanie Jacobson Julianne Donaldson*


Banana Split Code Word Deadly Undertakings Line of Fire Tres Leches Cupcakes
Josi S. Kilpack Traci Hunter Abramson Gregg Luke Rachel Ann Nunes Josi S. Kilpack


City of the Saints Flight From Blithmore Earthbound The Hollow City The Penitent
D. J. Butler Jacob Gowans Theresa Sneed Dan Wells C. David Belt

Youth Adult—Speculative

Demons Destined Endlessly Everneath Feedback
Heather Frost Aprilynne Pike Kiersten White Brodi Ashton* Robison Wells

Young Adult—General

After Hello Finding June The Space Between Us The Ugly Stepsister Strikes Back V is for Virgin
Lisa Mangum Shannen Crane Camp Jessica Martinez Sariah Wilson Kelly Oram

Middle Grade

Case File 13: Zombie Kid Epic Tales of a Misfit Hero Freakling Palace of Stone The False Prince
J. Scott Savage Matt Peterson* Lana Krumwiede* Shannon Hale Jennifer A. Nielsen
*Of these finalists, the following titles are also eligible for Best Novel by New Author 2012:
Dancing on Broken Glass by Ka Hancock *
The Five Books of Jesus by James Goldberg *
Lady Outlaw by Stacy Henrie *
Edenbrooke by Julianne Donaldson *
Everneath (Everneath, #1) by Brodi Ashton *
Espionage by A.L. Sowards *
Freakling by Lana Krumwiede *
The Epic Tales of a Misfit Hero by Matt Peterson *
Of Grace and Chocolate by Krista Lynne Jensen*
New this year: All finalists in the Adult categories (Mystery, Historical, General, Romance, Speculative) are eligible for Best Novel of the Year.
New this year: All finalists in the Youth categories (Middle Grade, YA General, YA Speculative) are eligible for Best Novel in Youth Fiction.
Academy Members have until April 29th, 2013, to read the finalists in whatever categories they want to vote in. To vote for Best Novel of the Year you must read all of the adult category finalists. To vote for Best Novel in Youth Fiction, you must read all of the youth category finalists. For information on how to join the Academy, click HERE.