Book Review: The Thorn by Beverly Lewis

Title: The Thorn
Author: Beverly Lewis
Series: Rose Trilogy Book #1 of 3
Publisher: Bethany House
Released: September 7, 2010

Book Summary:

Lancaster County, with its rolling meadows and secret byways, may seem idyllic, but it is not without its thorns. THE ROSE TRILOGY is the stirring saga of two Amish sisters on the fringes of the church, and the unforeseen discoveries that change their lives.

Rose Kauffman, a spirited young woman, has a close friendship with the bishop’s foster son. Nick dresses Plain and works hard but stirs up plenty of trouble too. Rose’s sister cautions her against becoming too involved, but Rose is being courted by a good, Amish fellow, so dismisses the warnings. Meanwhile, Rose keeps house for an English widower but is startled when he forbids her to ever go upstairs. What is the man hiding?

Rose’s older sister, Hen, knows more than she should about falling for the wrong man. Unable to abandon her Amish ways, Hen is soon separated from her very modern husband. Mattie, their young daughter, must visit her father regularly, but Hen demands she wear Amish attire–and speak Pennsylvania Dutch, despite her husband’s wishes. Will Hen be able to reestablish her place among the People she abandoned? And will she be able to convince Rose to steer clear of rogue neighbor Nick?

I’ve read at least a dozen other Amish novels by Beverly Lewis.  I’ve enjoyed all of them.  Unfortunately this one has been my least favorite.  For some reason I still can’t figure out I just didn’t connect with the characters in this one or really care about the story.  It was still a good read, one I don’t regret taking the time to read and I’ll likely read the sequels sometime in the future just to find out how the story ends.  I think it was just a problem of having too high of expectations and being a little disappointed when those expectations weren’t met.

If you are a fan of Amish fiction definitely give this one a try.  If you haven’t read Amish fiction I wouldn’t recommend starting with this one.  Try one of Beverly Lewis’s others series first like her Abram’s Daughter Series, I really enjoyed those.

3 Stars – Worth Reading

Content: Clean

Source: Library

Other books by Beverly Lewis: