Book Review: My Soul to Save by Rachel Vincent

Title: My Soul to Save
Author: Rachel Vincent
Series: Soul Screamers Book #2 of 7
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Released: December 29, 2009

Book Summary:

When Kaylee Cavanaugh screams, someone dies.

So when teen pop star Eden croaks onstage and Kaylee doesn’t wail, she knows something is dead wrong. She can’t cry for someone who has no soul.

The last thing Kaylee needs right now is to be skipping school, breaking her dad’s ironclad curfew and putting her too-hot-to-be-real boyfriend’s loyalty to the test. But starry-eyed teens are trading their souls: a flickering lifetime of fame and fortune in exchange for eternity in the Netherworld—a consequence they can’t possibly understand.

Kaylee can’t let that happen, even if trying to save their souls means putting her own at risk….

This novel enlightened me on what is actually going on with all the Disney Channel & Disney Movie Stars. Thank you Rachel for finally clearing up exactly what Disney is doing to these young child stars. Oh wait Disney wasn’t even mentioned in this book?  Could have fooled me!

I have the worst time writing reviews on sequels. It’s so hard! I hate spoilers. I prefer to pick up a book not even having read the back cover. I don’t want to know where I’m going until I get there.

So all I am going to say is that I really enjoyed My Soul to Save.  It’s a great addition to the Soul Screamers Series which is unique, well written and very entertaining.

The first book got a full 5 Stars, this one comes close with 4.5. A little too much content for my liking and not quite as good as the first book.  But having already read books 3 & 4 in this series I can say that it’s been a long time since I’ve been pulled into a series and felt such emotion while reading.

Rating: 4.5 Stars Highly Recommend (as long as you have read the content warning first).

Content: language, innuendo and sexual content. There was always an “interruption” (Tod or the phone) before things went all the way but there was definitely desire, passion, making out and wandering hands. (Please note that with each new book in this series the level of sexual content has escalated, book one is fairly mild but by book four the heat was quite high for a young adult book).

Source: Download from

This book is part of Soul Screamer Volume One: