2011 Whitney Award Finalists

The 2011 Whitney Awards Finalists have just been announced.

First off what are the Whitney Awards?

The Whitneys are awards given annually for the best novels written each year by LDS authors.

The awards are named after Orson F. Whitney, a member of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints as well as a poet and writer. Elder Whitney stated:

We will yet have Miltons and Shakespeares of our own.

Any reader can nominate a book. Once a book has received five or more nominations, it becomes an official nominee. A committee then reads and votes upon novels that are nominated in seven different categories narrowing the nominees down to five finalists in each category.

Here are the 2011 Finalists
Youth Fiction Speculative:
My Unfair Godmother by Janette Rallison

Shifting by Bethany Wiggins

Slayers by C.J. Hill

Tuesdays at the Castle by Jessica Day George

Variant by Robison Wells

Youth Fiction General:
Girls Don’t Fly by Kristen Chandler

Miles from Ordinary by Carol Lynch Williams

Pride & Popularity by Jenni James

Sean Griswold’s Head by Lindsey Leavitt

With a Name like Love by Tess Hilmo*

Borrowed Light by Carla Kelly

Captive Heart by Michele Paige Holmes

Count Down to Love by Julie N. Ford

The List by Melanie Jacobson*

Not My Type by Melanie Jacobson

Before I Say Goodbye by Rachel Ann Nunes

Gifted by Karey White*

Evolution of Thomas Hall by Kieth Merrill

The Walk: Miles to Go by Richard Paul Evans

The Wedding Letters by Jason F. Wright

Daughter of Helaman by Misty Moncur*

Fires of Jerusalem by Marilyn Brown

Isabelle Webb: The Pharaoh’s Daughter by N.C. Allen

Letters in the Jade Dragon Box by Gale Sears

Miss Delacourt Has Her Day by Heidi Ashworth

Acceptable Loss by Anne Perry

Bloodborne by Gregg Luke

If I Should Die by Jennie Hansen

Rearview Mirror by Stephanie Black

Smokescreen by Traci Hunter Abramson

The Alloy of Law: A Mistborn Novel by Brandon Sanderson

I Don’t Want to Kill You by Dan Wells

The Lost Gate by Orson Scott Card

A Night of Blacker Darkness by Dan Wells

No Angel by Theresa Sneed*

* Also eligible for Best Novel by a New Author