Shadow of the Giant by Orson Scott Card

Bean’s past was a battle just to survive. He first appeared on the streets of Rotterdam, a tiny child with a mind leagues beyond anyone else. He knew he could not survive through strength; he used his tactical genius to gain acceptance into a children’s gang, and then to help make that gang a template for success for all the others. He civilized them, and lived to grow older. Then he was discovered by the recruiters for the Battle School.
For Earth was at war — a terrible war with an inscrutable alien enemy. A war that humanity was near to losing. But the long distances of interstellar space has given hope to the defenders of Earth — they had time to train military geniuses up from childhood, forging them into an irresistible force in the high-orbital facility called the Battle School. That story is told in two books, the beloved classic Ender’s Game, and its parallel, Ender’s Shadow.
Bean was the smallest student at the Battle School, but he became Ender Wiggins’ right hand. Since then he has grown to be a power on Earth. He served the Hegemon as strategist and general in the terrible wars that followed Ender’s defeat of the alien empire attacking Earth. Now he and his wife Petra yearn for a safe place to build a family — something he has never known — but there is nowhere on Earth that does not harbor his enemies — old enemies from the days in Ender’s Jeesh, new enemies from the wars on Earth. To find security, Bean and Petra must once again follow in Ender’s footsteps. They must leave Earth behind, in the control of the Hegemon, and look to the stars.

I finally finish all the Ender’s Books. It took me over a year to get through all 9 books in the series. My husband and I listened to most of them on audio together.
I made the mistake of reading Ender in Exile before reading Shadow of the Giant. Don’t make that mistake. A good portion of Shadow of the Giant is summarized in Ender in Exile.
Even knowing a lot of the storyline I enjoyed this book! I admit it is really slow in places. There is so much strategy, politics and war games. That part didn’t hold my interest as much as the relationships did.
This book actually made me cry near the end. I don’t cry very easily especially while reading Sci-fi books but my mother’s heart ached while reading parts of this book and the tears just came.
I think when the next and I think final book in the series comes out I will take the time to reread this series.
Orson Scott Card is a phenomenal writer! I’m amazed at how much he was able to interweave between books.
When I started the series I wasn’t sure which order to read the books in. You can read them chronologically or in the order they are written in.
My recommendation is to read the series in the order they were written:
Ender’s Game
Speaker for the Dead
Children of the Mind
Ender’s Shadow
Shadow of the Hegemon
Shadow Puppets
Shadow of the Giant
Ender In Exile – Don’t read until after you have finished the other 8 books.
Content Warning: If you’ve ever read an Orson Scott Card’s book you know what to expect. There is mild language throughout the book. This is war so there is violence but I didn’t find it to be graphic or gruesome. There is also some innuendo. I think this series is appropriate for ages 16 and up. I know it is read by those much younger but I will wait until my boys are 16 to suggest they read this series. My son’s 12 year old friend read Ender’s Game and told me it was “so bad” in places due to the language, crudeness and innuendo.
Rating: A solid 4 star book and series. I highly recommend this series. Orson Scott Card is a phenomenal writer!